A Rainy Day On Oahu

Hello my lovely readers! Following my family’s stay on Kauai, Hawaii, we decided to island-hop and check out Oahu as well. While I didn’t enjoy this island quite as much as Kauai, we still had a lovely stay. Highlights included eating from the Shrimp Shack, an extremely delicious food truck, sleeping right next to the ocean, visiting Pearl Harbor (a post on its own, coming soon!), and super delectable fruit lunches from the side of the road. I hope you enjoy these photos and brief descriptions!

IMG_7202

IMG_7204

Like I said above, the fruit sold at the side of the road was to die for. I didn’t get a chance to try the coconut, but the one of the baggies pictured above was my lunch one day.

IMG_7205

That brown thing I’m holding (a fried banana), was my desert. While a fried banana isn’t the most lovely picture, I thought I’d show you guys just because it’s a must-try! There was salty-crunchiness mixed with the sweetness of the banana; a perfect balance.

IMG_7209

IMG_7235

Out of our two full days on Oahu, we spent the first one sightseeing. This included stopping at beaches to see the surfers ride the 10-foot waves in. Just watching gave quite the rush, the waves were huge! The beaches were also beautiful, but it was much too cold for swimming; most of the time, it was raining. One thing I noticed about this island is that there are many more locals. Kauai was a tourist island, while on Oahu University of Hawaii students would crowd the beaches to watch their friends surf! It was filled with more local hotspots.

IMG_7244

Another stop included visiting the Dole Plantation. I had been quite excited to see this, but was very let down when we got there. The whole thing is more of a tacky amusement park than anything else. There’s a huge souvenir store (with overpriced goods galore), and you can only really get the see the pineapples growing if you pay a lofty fee. There was a small portion open to the public, where one could read about pineapples, but I was expecting more. Across the street from the amusement park nightmare were the actual growing fields and factories; I would have loved to go in and see how the process really works, but it was not open to the public. Quite a let down, and unless you have small children and are willing to spend the money, it’s really not worth it.

IMG_7238

While unrelated, I thought I’d share this beautiful rainbow with you. It rained almost all day, and this was a nice little sunny moment.

IMG_7219

Above is what I wore that day: a Gap Body Tee, H&M shorts (similar here), Reef Flip-flops, and my vintage flower kimono. I had just gotten splashed in this shot from one of the huge waves. Being Hawaii though, the water wasn’t even too cold, so it was all okay (and my camera didn’t get wet, an added plus!).

Thanks so much for reading! If you enjoyed this post, be sure to follow me on here or through Bloglovin’! I also have a Twitter account and an Instagram account 🙂

Have you ever had a travel experience go wrong, like the Dole Plantation did for my family? Comment below, I’d love to hear (or read I guess, hehe) your stories!

Julia

4 thoughts on “A Rainy Day On Oahu

Leave a Reply

