Packing Skincare For A Tropical Vacation

Hello my lovely readers! Today’s post is all about what skincare I packed for my vacation to Hawaii. I ended up getting a ton of use out of most of this stuff, and I hope you find my thought helpful! Back at home, these products are my daily “holy grails”. I am now back in Los Angeles, so expect the fashion/makeup/Oahu posts to start rolling in. Can’t wait to share all that is to come 🙂

Fotor0114200921

Above is the bag that I used to pack all my stuff. I completely forgot to snap a picture of my own bag, however, I found it online! I love this for traveling. It’s quite compact, but so much fits inside! It’s even waterproof, and comes with a mirror. I promise, it fits everything. Find it here!

photo 5 (2)

These first two things that I packed were more “in-flight essentials” than anything else. I always need to have hand sanitizer on me, because I get sick constantly (and I chew my nails, bad combination, I know). Clean hands automatically make me feel more human on the plane! This one is one that my mom got as a freebie, however, you can literally find some anywhere (Bath and Body Works makes really yummy smelling ones!). These Clean & Clear oil absorbing sheets also always come along. After a plane ride, I simply wipe one over my face to look fresh and ready to go!

photo 4 (4)

A very vital item that got thrown in with the rest of my skincare stuff is a hair brush. Sadly, I forgot my normal one at home, so this had to do for the vacation. However, I give much credit to this little guy! The brush was a find from the dollar section at Target, and really did its job during the trip.

photo 2 (3)

Of course shampoo and conditioner came along. These two are from Lather; I scored them from my mom. I used them both up, and they smelled delicious. I especially liked the “mint thyme” scent of the shampoo, it smelled so fresh and clean! Both worked well, and I might be looking into the full sized products now that I’m home.

photo 5 (1)

Another array of hair products that came along were my hair oils. I found these were vital after a few days at the beach, when the salt water had completely dried my hair out. The John Frieda one was a sample, and honestly a little too oily for my taste. However, the L’oreal is my all time favorite, and it has soo much product in it! After washing my hair at night, I’d rub the oil in, braid my hair, and then sleep on it. In the morning, I always had soft beachy waves! Perfect for the tropical vacation. And it smells like watermelon 🙂

photo 3 (1)

Dry shampoo ended up being the one thing that I didn’t get a ton of use out of. I went swimming nearly every day, and thus I showered/washed my hair everyday. However, this John Frieda one is perfect for traveling. Dry shampoo is usually a must for me, and this small size is so practical!

photo 2 (2)

Bobby pins were an essential for this trip. While they’re not exactly haircare, they were still a vital part of what I used everyday while getting ready! I pinned back my beachy hair everyday, or used the “DNA Pins” to put my hair up in a bun while tanning. I stow them in an old Altoids tin, I’ve found that’s super practical for traveling!

photo 1 (3)

These skincare products are the reason I live (or, the reason my skin isn’t scaly and hideous). Not available in the US (sorry American readers!!) I stock up on the face cream and body lotion every time I visit Germany. Bepanthol is available throughout Europe, in many countries I believe (I know France and the UK for sure). It is great for skin with eczema, and comes with me where ever I go. The face cream (the smaller, pink one) was especially helpful during this trip because my skin was always dried out from swimming. I used it twice a day, and that helped keep my skin nice and soft. The body lotion (big blue one) was great after a day of being in the sun. (find it here, however, the website is all in German)

photo 3 (2)

Aquaphor is my staple when it comes to lip, nail, or intensive face moisture. My lips and nails got pretty dry from all the snorkeling I did. So, I’d just slather this on at night, right before bed on all the affected areas, and my skin was totally refreshed in the morning. It’s scentless (and often used on babies), so even the most sensitive skin (my skin) can handle it.

photo 4 (2)

And of course deodorant came along. This one is my favorite of all time, the Nivea Stress Protect 48 Hour Spray. I believe that this is only available throughout Europe, so once again I am very sorry to my non-European readers. For those in Europe, find it here, or in any drugstore! (find it here, but it only ships within Europe)

CoppertoneSport-sunscreen

And the last, but must important thing that came along, is my sunscreen. My bottle was all nasty, but I just wanted to show you which one I used during my trip. It worked great, and kept me protected all day at the beach. It also worked really well with my sensitive skin. Don’t forget sunscreen when going on a tropical vacation!! It’s incredibly important. 

And thank concludes this post! Thanks so much for reading 🙂 If you enjoyed this, be sure to follow me on here (by giving your email above) or through Bloglovin’. I’m also on Twitter!

What do you pack when you go on vacation?

Julia

4 thoughts on “Packing Skincare For A Tropical Vacation

  1. what a great post! these all sound like awesome products! that mint and thyme scent sounds interesting! and I would love to try the l’oreal serum, love that it smells like watermelon!

    styleandchocolates.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

